As the population in Hobbs, NM continues to grow, the rate of accident and injuries continues to increase as well. Many have suffered a serious injury due to the negligence of another party. Knowing what steps to take next can be confusing. At the law offices of FCHC, our experienced personal injury lawyers are here to help. Call us today for a free injury consultation.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim in Hobbs
We define negligence as one’s failure to exercise a reasonable degree of care. When negligence leads to another’s harm, the injured maintains the right to bring forth a personal injury claim for compensation. There are many different types of personal injury suits, including:
- Car Accidents;
- Oil Field Injuries;
- Wrongful death claims;
- Bicycle, motorcycle, and pedestrian accident cases;
- Catastrophic Injuries;
- Work Injuries.
In New Mexico, a plaintiff in a personal injury suit can seek compensation for economic and noneconomic harm suffered, including:
- Medical expenses;
- Lost wages;
- Future losses; and
- Pain and suffering.
There are no caps on recoverable damages in the state of New Mexico with the exception of damage caps for medical malpractice cases. Meet with qualified accident attorneys to learn more about limitations on damages.
Shared Fault Rules in New Mexico
While any party who has been injured due to another’s negligence has the right to attempt to hold the responsible party liable for damages, New Mexico maintains a rule of comparative negligence for personal injury claims. Under this rule, a party who is partially at fault can still seek compensation for their harm but damages will be reduced in proportion to their degree of fault. For example, if you are found to be 10 percent at fault for your injuries, your compensation award will be reduced by 10 percent.
How Long Do I Have to File?
All states have statutes of limitation that place a cap on the amount of time a person has to bring forth an injury suit. In New Mexico, that limit is three years from the date of injury, as found in Section 37-1-8 of New Mexico code. If you wait longer than three years, you will likely be barred from recovering compensation. This is one of the key reasons that meeting with lawyers for personal injury claims as soon as possible after your accident is important.
Contact Our Personal Injury Lawyer, Hobbs, NM, Now
If someone’s actions harm you, it is important that you act quickly to file your personal injury claim and begin the process of recovering compensation. At the law offices of FCHC, our Hobbs injury and accident attorneys are passionate about our work and promise to fight for your right to 100 percent of your compensation award. To schedule your free, no-obligation consultation with our law firm, please send us a message or call our office directly.