DUI Accident Lawyers Serving Greater New Mexico and Texas
Drinking and driving laws in New Mexico are strict. Yet crashes involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) happen much too often.
Many times, innocent drivers and passengers suffer severe injuries.
Were you injured in a collision caused by a drunk driver? Our team of personal injury lawyers can begin working with you on your claim today.
We know how important it is to obtain financial compensation for your losses.
We will hold the negligent party accountable for the dangerous accident that caused your injuries.
The advocates at FCHC can talk with you today about your options.
Getting the Facts About Drunk Driving in New Mexico
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division provides some of the following facts about DUI accidents in the state:
- Alcohol is a factor in about 40 percent of all fatal New Mexico crashes;
- Alcohol affects your ability to see and concentrate behind the wheel;
- Even a single drink of alcohol can result in a drunk driving crash; and
- Drugs other than alcohol can also lead to a DUI or DWI collision.
A drunk driving accident attorney can help you to seek the compensation you deserve.
Filing Your DUI Accident Claim On Time
When you’re facing injuries from a DUI accident, you need to file a claim quickly. A statute of limitations governs all personal injury claims, including DUI injury lawsuits. The statute of limitations is a legal term that refers to the time window a plaintiff has to file a claim for compensation. Under New Mexico law (N.M. Stat. § 37-1-8), a DUI injury victim has three years from the date she suffered her injuries to file a lawsuit.
If you do not file your lawsuit within three years from the date of injury, you will not be able to seek compensation. The quicker you begin the process of filing your lawsuit, the sooner you may be able to receive financial compensation for your losses. A drunk driving accident lawyer can assist you.
Understanding How New Mexico’s Comparative Fault Law Can Affect Your Claim
What happens if the court says you are partially at fault for the accident?
For example, what happens if a drunk driver hit you but you were speeding at the time of the collision?
Under New Mexico’s comparative fault law, plaintiffs can recover damages even if they bear some responsibility for the crash. The plaintiff’s award is simply reduced by his or her percentage of negligence. New Mexico is a pure comparative fault state. This means that a plaintiff recovers damages whether the plaintiff is 10 percent responsible or 99 percent responsible. The court can reduce damages by the percentage the plaintiff is at fault.
A DUI accident lawyer can assist you if you have questions.
Seek Help from a DUI Accident Attorney in New Mexico Today
When you suffer serious or life-threatening injuries in a New Mexico DUI crash, it is important to learn more about filing a personal injury lawsuit to seek financial compensation. The DUI accident attorneys at our firm can begin working on your case as soon as you contact us. We have years of experience handling personal injury claims and can discuss your options with you. Contact FCHC online or call us at (800) 433-2408 to get started.